What our guests say



Summary
4.5

Amazing stay- what a Gem! 💎- Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights when visiting for the Taylor Swift concert. It was fantastic! David and Ian were lovely hosts. Nothing was too much and they always offered advice about places to eat and transport. The room was lovely and clean and decorated really nicely. Breakfast was superb with lots of choice and homemade ingredients. The location was great for us- just a 15 minute walk from the city centre and away from the crowds. Thank you so much. We will return when we come back to Edinburgh in the future.

Reviewer: Gemma B | Wed 12th Jun 2024 | 1 day ago


Truly exceptional!- Rating 5/5

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Castle Park Guest House during my visit to Edinburgh.First of all, Ian and David are incredibly friendly and welcoming. They go above and beyond to ensure you feel at home. It’s like staying with friends who genuinely care about your comfort.The guest house is an old victorian townhouse, that has been tastefully updated. You'll find little tartan themed decoration everywhere in the house, which I personally loved!! It's conveniently located and just a 15 minute walk away from the city center, making sightseeing a breeze.My room had everything I needed to feel comfortable, the private bathroom with it's big shower was spotless. Everything was clean and tidy.Regarding the breakfast I really looked forward to it, especially because I wanted to try a traditional but classic english breakfast. Not only was it cooked freshly just for me, Ian and David bake their own bread. That means you can have freshly homebaked toast bread every morning with your breakfast! It was really delicious!!Staying at the Castle Park Guest House was an exceptional experience.I'm so happy to habe met Ian and David, they were wonderful hosts, and everything was truly delightful. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. Highly recommended!

Reviewer: Damaris | Tue 11th Jun 2024 | 2 days ago


Amazing stay! - Rating 5/5

We had an absolute wonderful stay in Castle Park Guest House last weekend. The guest house is within walking distance of both the old town and new town. The room was very clean and cosy. The hosts Ian and David really go above and beyond for their guests. We felt very welcome and at home in their house. The breakfast was very delicious. Different breakfast options were available and were all locally sourced which is something that we very much appreciate. We will definitely be returning to Edinburgh in the near future and are looking forward to staying with Ian and David again.

Reviewer: Tim G | Tue 11th Jun 2024 | 2 days ago


Amazing! - Rating 5/5

Everything was perfect, thank you Ian and David for an amazing stay, once again. We hope to come back for a third stay. Take care!

Reviewer: Marine R | Sun 9th Jun 2024 | 4 days ago


Great stay at Castle Park Guest House - Rating 5/5

We had a too short but excellent, fun stay. Ian and David are wonderful, welcoming hosts. Ian’s breakfasts and bread are fantastic! Our room was comfortable, super clean, and had everything we needed and more. Ian and David provided helpful recommendations on restaurants and places to visit. The guest house is in a great neighborhood with easy walks to parks and restaurants.

Reviewer: Eric S | Wed 5th Jun 2024 | 1 week ago


100% recommended- Rating 5/5

Ian and David are the best possible hosts. Friendly, helpfully, trying their best to make the stay for their guestsas comfortable as possible. State of the room was excellent, great breakfast.

Reviewer: Harald G | Wed 5th Jun 2024 | 1 week ago


Amazing stay! - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Ian and David. They are excellent hosts; very welcoming, friendly and professional, going above and beyond for all their guests. Their home is wonderful - our room was spacious, beautifully decorated and with everything you would expect in a high-end guesthouse. From our arrival with a glass of Cava, the information on tourist attractions and the phenomenal breakfasts, we couldn't have asked for more. Thank you!

Reviewer: Jackie C | Tue 4th Jun 2024 | 1 week ago


A true gem - Rating 5/5

Castle Park is a real gem. David and Ian are brilliant hosts, they have designed the rooms tastefully and meticulously, using high quality furnishings and decor. The breakfast is super, with wholesome ingredients and homemade bread making for agreat start to the day. The house is well placed, being right next to a bus stop, but also being a pleasant walk away from the city centre. I thoroughly recommend this house and appreciate the excellent hospitality shown by the hosts. We will use again if we return to Edinburgh.

Reviewer: William M | Sun 2nd Jun 2024 | 1 week ago


Very pleasant - Rating 4/5

I received a very warm welcome and the overall ambience was lovely. I have no complaints about any aspect of my stay and would return again.

Reviewer: Andrew H | Sun 26th May 2024 | 2 weeks ago


The most personal, warm and welcoming experience! - Rating 5/5

There is so much to say. I will break it down into different categories:1. First impression: Before even arriving there, I was already in communication with Ian & David regarding a challenging situation where I wasn’t sure about my check-in time. (Long story, due to the fact that I thought I had lost my passport). The point is that they were so incredibly open to find ways to accommodate me. They didn’t have to, but had offered several options. This showed their incredible kindness from the start. Once everything was resolved and I arrived there, I was greeted with a glass of Cava (a Spanish Sparkling Wine). It is how they welcome their guests. After that, Ian had taken the time to go through all the details about my stay (times for breakfast, entering and leaving the hotel, keys, bathrooms, etc..). Everything around me was kept in a very pristine state. Everything was clean and proper. Even when I went up to the room, it was pretty immaculate. The bathroom was even more impressive. A definite 10/10 on cleanliness.2. Comfort: Most hotels can be a hit or a miss when it comes to the comfort of the mattress. I am personally very picky when it comes to that. Their bed was very comfortable and even the pillows. I also found other guests to be very polite and even discreet. There were no loud noises, no running around. It was pretty peaceful. The bathroom and shower were great. I found a nice bath robe hanging behind the door waiting for me to use it.3. Outlets and lights. I found the room to have sufficient outlets that I could use to setup my charging station. And you had easy access to a light by the bed so that you didn’t have to get up to turn off the lights at night.4. Food: Wow! From previous reviews, I had read about Ian & David baking their homemade bread fresh every morning. And I can say that I had that wonderful smell as soon as I stepped out of my room in the morning. They take the time to use fresh and local ingredients for their breakfast. I was also very impressed with how they kept the counter very clean with a beautiful selection of cereals, fruits, juices and snacks. It was wonderful to know that I could help myself to a snack throughout the day and help myself to different options of juices or even milk to have some cereal.I appreciate that they don’t like to waste any food (I am the same way) so they serve their portions just right and welcome you to order more if you like. For breakfast, I had the Full Scottish Breakfast (with meat). Out of the three places that I had tried during my stay in Edinburgh, this was by far the best one. Everything on the plate was just perfect! I also ordered their croissant and pain au chocolat and it was just perfect!!Even their jam and butter on their home made bread was delicious!! Just writing about it now makes me want that breakfast 10 times over!One more thing about the breakfast and their service, which I will always remember, is being asked if I was left handed or right handed. It was to know in which direction to place the handles of the cup, the cream and the coffee pot in the table! Wow! I’ve never had such personal service! Again, very impressed!5. Location: I was basically a 10-minute walk to the start of the royal mile. And in Edinburgh, it’s beautiful to walk around. From the airport to there, it was pretty easy. I purchased a return ticket with the Airlink Bus (cost me £8 both ways) and from the drop off, it’s a 15-minute walk. I didn’t mind it at all since the scenery was beautiful. So they are nicely located so you don’t feel like you are in a busy area.Overall, I will most definitely make them a must for a place to stay. Again, I can’t stress how great Ian & David were. Their service and attention to detail was just perfect!!Thank you both for a wonderful stay and exceptionalHospitality!

Reviewer: Dory C | Wed 22nd May 2024 | 3 weeks ago